Lawyers Committee


The Lawyers Committee of the National Center for State Courts provides an opportunity for the leaders of the nation’s preeminent law firms to partner with the NCSC in building public understanding of the need for a strong and independent judiciary. Members participate in dialogues with state chief justices and state court leaders on judicial reform issues, and provide valuable input on NCSC activities in a range of areas from jury reform to judicial independence.


Joining NCSC’s Lawyers Committee allows attorneys to be directly involved with the organization created to improve the state courts. It is a practical way to advance the cause of good government on a national level and satisfy one’s personal and professional responsibility as an officer of the court to strengthen the legal profession.

  • Connect with state chief justices on a wide range of topics.
  • Communicate with judicial leaders on current issues of most concern to you.
  • Access to NCSC’s experts and social scientists.
  • Network with other attorneys and general counsel.

To learn how your firm can become a member, please email Susan Gilliam or call her at (757) 259-1551.

Join or renew your membership today.

Leadership and Service

Chairs of the Lawyers Committee are selected from among the current membership for three year terms.  The committee is currently co-chaired by Elena R. Baca of Paul Hastings and Patrick Malone of Patrick Malone & Associates.  The Membership Chair is F. James Robinson, Jr. of Hite, Fanning & Honeyman.

The Committee meets annually in Washington, D.C. as part of a suite of events which include the William H. Rehnquist Award Reception & Dinner at the U.S. Supreme Court.

Andrew Myers
Beck Redden
Butler Snow Logo
Christensen Law
Christian&Barton Logo
Dalton & Assocs
Davis Graham Stubbs Logo
Dechert Logo
Faegre Drinker Logo
Gibbs Law Group
Gordon Tilden
Goosmann Law Logo
Habush Logo
Johnson Bell Logo
Jones Walker
Kelly Hart Hallman Logo
Kirkland & Ellis
Klinedinst Logo
Koskoff Logo
Lane Powell
Lewis Wagner Logo
McGuireWoods Logo
McLane Middleton Logo
Orrick Logo
Patrick Malone
Perkins Coie
Potter Anderson
Reed Smith
Robinson Cole Logo
Shamberg Logo
Shook Hardy Bacon Logo
State Farm
Troutman Pepper Logo
Walkup Logo
Wilson Sonsini
Womble Bond Dickinson

Barrett & Gilman

Ciresi Conlin

Corrie Yackulic Law

Dolt Thompson Shepherd & Conway

Gentry Locke Attorneys

Hansen McClintock & Riley

Hare Wynn Newell & Newton

Hite Fanning & Honeyman

Janet Hoffman & Associates

Kelley Drye & Warren

Kline & Specter

Kramer Levin Naftalis & Frankel

Law Office of J.D. Smith

Law Office Robert H. Alexander, Jr.

Leader Berkon Colao & Silverstein

Michael P. Maguire, Esq.

Mandell Boisclair & Mandell

Munger Tolles & Olson

Nason Yeager Gerson Harris & Fumero

Nelson Mullins

Osborn Maledon

Paul Hastings

Ramon Worthington

Searcy Denney Scarola Barnhart & Shipley

Smith LaCien


Wachtell Lipton Rosen & Katz